Parmesan-crusted Fish Fillet with Creamy Dill Sauce

Do you ever wonder about what to do with the fish you’d bought? I do…and I don’t know a lot fish recipes, so one day, I asked my good friend Google for some fish fillet recipes and it found this. I’ve made this thrice already and we love it, we can have it with corn and carrots, rice and vegetables.

Since I am in sort-of a diet…one that would help me lose weight, I did not put in heavy cream. I think mayo and sour cream are evil enough, don’t you think?

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Sauce Ingredients

First things first, make the sauce for the flavors to come together and you’d happily dip your fish in there. You’d want more and more sauce on your fish and completely forget you have a mission to lose weight!

I crushed 2 garlic cloves with my handy-dandy garlic press then put in zest of one lemon. Then I added in 1/2 teaspoon of dried dill, 1/4 cup of mayonnaise and 1/2 cup of sour cream.

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Sauce Ingredients 2

Lastly, I added 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice, salt and pepper (to taste).

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Sauce Ingredients 3

Refrigerate until you need it.

Preheat the oven at 200C.

Next, make the crust. I had my husband grate parmesan cheese. I melted 2 tablespoons of butter in a bowl in the microwave then when that’s done, I added the 1/2 cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese (you can use the packed ones if you don’t have this), 1/2 cup of panko breadcrumbs and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper.

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Crust Ingredients

Mix all that and do not worry if the butter did not combine everything together, it’s actually crispier that way – my last two attempts had quite a lot of butter and it was not as crispy as this one.

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Crust Ingredients 2

Make sure that the fish fillet are patted dry. Press down the crust and place on a roasting rack and bake for 15 minutes.

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Rack

Top our parmesan crusted fish fillet with the dill sauce and enjoy it with whatever you’d like to go with it! 🙂

Parmesan Crusted Fish: Rack 2

Parmesan Crusted Fish

Parmesan-crusted Fish Fillet with Creamy Dill Sauce

(Prep Time: 30 minutes | Cooking Time: 15 minutes)

Adapted from FunnyLove

Sauce:

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced finely or crushed using a garlic press
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Crust:

  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Combine all ingredients for the sauce and refrigerate until needed.

Fish:

  • 2 pcs catfish fillet
  1. Pre-heat oven to 200C.
  2. Combine all ingredients for the crust.
  3. Slice fish fillet into 3 pieces, top with crust mixture and press down.
  4. Place fish on a roasting rack and bake for 15 minutes.
  5. Top fish + crust with sauce and serve.

Makes 2 servings

One response to “Parmesan-crusted Fish Fillet with Creamy Dill Sauce

Leave a reply