Bacon Enoki Rolls

When I was in Shanghai, China early this year to handle the defects of our system, Enoki Rolls saved my life almost every night as I ate that with steamed white rice each time we were at Ajisen Ramen.

I made Beef Enoki Rolls a few months back and then thought of trying bacon instead. So today, I’ll show you how I made our Bacon Enoki Rolls on a hot Saturday afternoon waiting for the UAAP game between Ateneo and La Salle. Yay! Ateneo won again, my Baby was very happy! 🙂

This is quite easy to make and very quick too! 🙂

We bought enoki mushrooms, spring onions and bacon from the market since we had the other ingredients at home. For the sauce, I needed sake, mirin, premium soy sauce and garlic powder.

I pre-heated our oven to 200C. Next, I covered the baking tray in aluminum foil to make my husband’s life easier. 🙂 This prevents the rolls sticking to the foil.

If the bacon strips you have are long, cut them in half — that’s what I did. I also cut the enoki mushrooms around 1.5 inches from the roots. Then, I got  some mushrooms and rolled it in bacon. I placed the bacon enoki rolls on the baking tray, the rolls can be secured with a toothpick but all I did was to put end of the bacon strip at the bottom for the weight of the roll to do the securing.

Next, I sprinkled salt and pepper onto the rolls. Then placed that into the oven (once the temp inside is 200C).

I baked that for about 15 minutes, got it out before the mushroom burns. While the rolls were baking, I cooked the sauce. In a pan (that’s not heated), add 1 Tbsp sake, 2 Tbsp premium soy sauce (or you can use kikkoman but please don’t use the dark soy sauce or the silver swan or the datu puti), 2 Tbsp mirin and a pinch of garlic powder. Probably, you can add fresh garlic but please grate it or use a garlic press and add a little amount first and increase it if you want more garlic. When all that is in the pan, I heated it through and boiled it for about 2-3 minutes. I then placed that in a sauce bowl.

Once the bacon enoki rolls were done, I placed those on a plate and sprinkled with chopped spring onions, more pepper and Japanese assorted chili pepper (nanami togarashi).

That’s it! 🙂

Bacon Enoki Rolls

(Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cooking Time: 15 minutes)

  • 1 pack of Enoki mushrooms
  • 4 long bacon strips (or 8 short ones)
  • 1 Tbsp Sake
  • 2 Tbsp Mirin
  • 2 Tbsp Premium Soy Sauce
  • Pinch of Garlic Powder
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Chopped spring onions (optional)
  • Japanese assorted chili peppers (optional)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 200C.
  2. Cut the enoki mushrooms 1.5 inches from the roots.
  3. If you have long strips of bacon, cut in half.
  4. Roll a bunch of enoki mushrooms in the bacon strip and repeat until all the mushrooms have been rolled in bacon.
  5. Place the rolls into the baking tray with the bacon strip’s end at the bottom (to secure the roll).
  6. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and put it in the oven.
  7. Bake for about 15 minutes (monitor by the 10th minute to check if the enoki mushrooms are starting to brown — careful not to burn them).
  8. Put all ingredients for the sauce into a pan (sake, mirin, premium soy sauce and garlic powder) and heat it through, let it boil for about 2-3 minutes.
  9. Take out the bacon enoki rolls and sprinkle pepper, Japanese assorted chili pepper and spring onion.

Makes 2 servings

Leave a reply