Homemade Pizza

My husband is a pizza-pasta-noodle-loving-person and I would like to cook something “new” every weekend for him. Last weekend, we attempted to make homemade pizza and we’re very very happy with the result!! 🙂

It’s very easy to make the pizza dough! Stop buying the frozen ones, it’s actually cheaper to make your own. I got this recipe and I followed it almost 100%, I just added a bit more oil, about 1 teaspoon because I felt it was a bit dry and wasn’t smooth enough for me.

I started with (a little over) 1 cup of warm water (I popped it in the microwave for about 20 seconds), 2 teaspoons active dried yeast, mixed it and let it sit for about 10 minutes.


In a bowl, I combined 3 cups of plain flour, 2 teaspoons of salt.

Next, I poured the oil and water gradually and kneaded the mixture in the bowl for about 10 minutes. Don’t worry if if it feels like it lacked water/oil — I felt that too, but after resting for an hour,  you’d feel the difference in texture, it was much smoother and softer. 🙂

I greased the bowl and covered it with cling-wrap and let it sit for an hour. It’s amazing how it looks after the hour of resting! It’s a lot bigger now. 🙂


I split the dough into four because our oven is not big. I kneaded it for a few minutes(around 3 minutes) to release some air (as the recipe suggests). I also stretched the dough a bit.

I went to the kitchen and pre-heated the oven at 210C.

Next, I scattered flour on our table and I started to roll out the dough with my rolling pin. I tried my very best to make it as thin as possible. 🙂

I let it rest for another 10 minutes and then placed it on top of non-stick cooking paper. I didn’t have a pizza stone or that round aluminium pizza thing. 😛

I started putting on the tomato+basil sauce…

Then the mozzarella cheese, please put more! I didn’t put a lot because we were running our of it..hahaha! But minutes after, my sweet husband went don’t to the supermarket to buy more. 🙂

Next, I topped it with bacon, green bell peppers, crimini mushrooms and onions.

Pop it into the oven for about 15 minutes then TADA! 🙂

Please wait for a few minutes before eating it, wouldn’t want your palate to be burnt (like ours) Hahahaha! 🙂

Enjoy!!!

Homemade pizza

(Prep Time: 30 minutes | Waiting Time: at least 1 hour | Cooking Time: 15 minutes)

Pizza dough

Adapted from this recipe

(Prep Time: 20 minutes | Waiting Time: at least 1 hour)

  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 2 tsp active dried yeast
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 3 tbsp + 1 tsp olive oil

Pizza Toppings

  • Bacon
  • Onion
  • Bell Pepper
  • Crimini Mushrooms
  • Tomato & Basil Sauce
  • Mozzarella
  1. Pour yeast into the water and let it rest for 10 minutes.
  2. In a bowl mix flour and salt.
  3. Gradually mix oil and water+yeast mixture to the flour mixture.
  4. Knead for about 10 minutes.
  5. Cover the bowl with cling wrap and let it rest for 1 hour.
  6. Pre-heat your oven to 210C.
  7. After resting time, depending on the size of your oven/pizza stone/etc, divide the pizza dough and knead for about 3 minutes.
  8. Scatter flour on table and start rolling the dough to your preferred thickness.
  9. Let it rest and top with your favorite toppings.
  10. Pop pizza into the oven for at least 15 minutes (for thin pizza) and more if your dough was thicker.

Makes four 8-inch thin crust pizza dough

4 responses to “Homemade Pizza

Leave a reply